From Goblins to Giggles with Gratitude

GoblinThere are certain phobias associated with Halloween which evolved from the fears people had of ghosts, goblins, and ghouls. For example:

  • Samhaino-phobia is the fear of Halloween
  • gravestoneCucurbit- phobia is the fear of pumpkins
  • Arachno-phobia is the fear of spiders
  • Pheumati-phobia is the fear of spirits
  • Hemoto-phobia is the fear of blood
  • Coimetro-phobia is the fear of cemeteries
  • Blenno-phobia is the fear of slime

They all sound a bit ghoulish, don’t they? They stem from people’s discomfort with darkness, graveyards, wastelands, ruins, and desolate places. Everything about ghouls and goblins sounds sinister, and macabre, and frightening.

The Metaphysics of Ghosts and Goblins

Although costumes of these creatures are worn good-naturedly during Halloween, the essence of these creatures can creep into our every day lives if we’re not careful. Metaphysically, they represent ghoulish thoughts, attitudes, and behaviors that fuel our fears and feed on our good. They can rob us of our health and make a wasteland out of our spiritual home.

They take the form of thoughts like:

  • I’m not good enough.
  • I’m so stupid.
  • I’ll never be able to be as successful as I want.
  • I didn’t have a choice.
  • I guess I’ll always be poor.

And attitudes like:

  • Truth principles may work for others, but they don’t work for me!
  • I know prayer works but I don’t have time to pray every day!
  • Some people attract all kinds of prosperity, but not me!
  • No matter what I do, I screw things up.

These are ghoulish attitudes and they serve us no good. They under mind any good we can achieve. They are tricks instead of treats that we allow to sabotage our health, happiness, and success. They are mental goblins we can do without! They are emotional ghosts of self-doubt, and self-deprecation, and self-punishment. They have no place in our lives, and no room in our consciousness.

Romans 8:38 says: I am persuaded that neither the (goblins of) death, nor the (ghoulishness of) life, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate me from the love of God, which is expressed in and through me.

  • I am persuaded that ghosts, goblins or ghouls cannot separate me from my highest good.
  • I am persuaded that sickness or disease, or financial difficulties, or missed opportunities, or unemployment, or the death of a loved one, or a natural disaster, or violence, or the economy shall not separate me from the Christ of me!
  • I am persuaded. I am confident. I am certain that no outer appearance has power over me.

ghost-baseball-batThe next time a goblin of fear, guilt, or negativity sneaks up on you say: “Bugaboo, get out of my life.”

Let’s practice:  Think of something in your life right now that may be causing you pain, shame, guilt, or fear. Say: “Bugaboo, get out of my life.”

  • “I refuse to put up with your ghoulishness!”
  • “Get thee behind me ghosts of limitation or lamentation.”

A Giggle State of Consciousness

See we’ve turned bugaboos into a BOO-tiful experience. We’ve got the goblins on the run! Now let’s keep them on the run with giggles of gratitude!  We call it the Giggle State of Consciousness. Research has now proven that complex humor (riddles, puns, funny stories) not only strengthens our immune system, it actually can improve memory and recalibrate our intuition! We can also approach problems with more flexibility, opening the channels to creative Divine ideas. When we identify our goblins, then practice regular mediation and prayer, we can live in a state of constant giggles! We can experience the pure delight and joy of knowing that we are never alone, and nothing has any power over us. We can say with assurance: My consciousness is greater than any goblin my mind can conjur up!

LaughterWhen we live in the Giggle State of Consciousness, we live from a state of pure joy and gratitude. Here’s a great quote we discovered about gratitude, by Melody Beatty:

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos into order, confusion into clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow.”

So when the goblins come out to scare you away from your Divinity, just go into the Silence, with the assurance that you can live in a constant state of Divine Giggles and Joy, knowing that wherever you are, God is — and all is well!

About Bil and Cher Holton - The Global Center for Spiritual Practices

Combine a flair for the dramatic, a deep understanding of metaphysics combined with the teachings of Jesus, and a zest for neuroscience and Positive Psychology, and you have defined the dynamic duo who are at the heart of The Global Center for Spiritual Practices, a Cyber Home for people who are more spiritual than religious. Revs. Drs. Bil and Cher Holton bring quite a background of experience and depth of knowledge to this special ministry. They are dynamic and thought-provoking speakers, prolific authors, and spiritual teachers. Check them out at http://www.YourSpiritualPractice.com/
This entry was posted in Halloween, Metaphysical Interpretation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Goblins to Giggles with Gratitude

  1. Thank you! This is exactly what I needed to tweak our annual Days of the Dead service on Sunday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

