How to S.H.O.O.T. from the Lip for Powerful Spiritual Growth

Let’s begin by clarifying what we mean by SHOOT from the Lip. We all know the traditional saying, “Shoot from the hip,” which is used when we speak without much planning or preparation. S.H.O.O.T. from the Lip, on the other hand, means to use the power of spoken affirmations in an intentional, powerful way to amp up our spiritual awareness and experience tremendous spiritual growth! SHOOT is an acronym, standing for: Spiritually Honoring Only One Truth! Every affirmation we create must be grounded in the Truth of No Separation. We are the physical expressions of One God: Omnipotent, Omnipresent, Omniscient, and Omni-active.

So why the focus on affirmations? In the Foreword to Drs.’ Rick Hanson and Richard Mendius’ groundbreaking book, Buddha’s Brain: The Neuroscience of Happiness, Love and Wisdom, Dr. Daniel Siegel has this to say about the power of the spoken word: “The simple truth is that how we focus our attention, how we intentionally direct the flow of energy and information, and the way we communicate alters the very circuitry of our brain.”

Neuroscience has proven beyond a doubt that even fleeting thoughts and feelings can leave lasting impressions on our brain. When you add the amperage of the spoken word as a vocal expression of those thoughts and feelings you literally change the neural structure of the brain. Positive thoughts and affirmations are not only essential for spiritual growth but they are necessary ingredients for emotional and physical well being and for rewiring the brain.

We’re sure you are familiar with the typical process for writing and repeating affirmations — but we’d like to stretch your spiritual thinking to a whole new level by suggesting a contrarian type of affirmation statement. It goes against all the rules of being short, easily remembered, and to the point, but our experience with this technique has been incredible!

So here is a template that can literally transform the way you use affirmations in your life!

I have now transcended all patterns of ________________________________ (whatever the focus of your current experience is — this is your denial statement)

I’m free and _____________________________________________________ (statement of the end result, grounded in Truth Principles, which you are affirming)

My mind and body now manifest Divine _______________________________ (essence of the power of your affirmation desire)

I _______________________________________________________________ (statement of action – what you are doing that reflects the essence of your focus area)

I _______________________________________________________________ (follow-up statement of action, along with the benefit of performing the action)

I give thanks for ever increasing ______________________________________ (statement of the beneficial results)

I am a radiant expression of God! (final affirmation of the Truth of who you are!)

Here are a few examples:

Prosperity:

I have now transcended all patterns of lack.
I’m free and prosperous!
My mind and body now manifest Divine abundance.
I stand in the infinite flow of Divine riches.
I give and receive joyfully, as money flows to me easily and effortlessly..
I give thanks for ever increasing prosperity, knowing bills are paid with plenty to share and plenty to spare.
I am a radiant expression of God!

Forgiveness:

I have now transcended all patterns of anger and resentment.
I’m free and loving!
My mind and body now manifest Divine release and acceptance.
I embrace and celebrate the Divinity in others, celebrating their highest and best.
I forgive and release anyone who has injured or harmed me in any way, and experience incredible freedom, joy, and peace.
I give thanks for ever increasing love, appreciation, and joy.
I am a radiant expression of God!

Health :

I have now transcended all patterns of illness and pain.
I’m free and healthy!
My mind and body now manifest Divine perfection.
I love and accept my body completely.
I am good to my body and my body is good to me.
I give thanks for ever increasing health, beauty, and vitality.
I am a radiant expression of God!
 

Now … are you ready for a mega-boost in Consciousness?  As we focused on our SHOOT acronym: Spiritually Honoring Only One Truth, we had a Divine Idea that energetically boosts everything to a whole new level! If the “ONE TRUTH” is that there is no separation and our ultimate purpose is to be the best Christ we can be—and if we are striving to be in 100% alignment between our Christ Self and our human self, then why not go for the whole enchilada? Instead of separating out each area of our life we want to work on, why not use this template to affirm the Absolute, All-encompassing Truth of who we are? So here’s a first “shot” of our Mega-Boost SHOOT from the Lip:

 

I have now transcended all patterns of error and separation.
I’m free and Divine!
My mind and body are in sync with Spirit.
I think, speak, and act at my highest, most elevated level of Consciousness.
I am Divine, I am Worthy, I am One with my Christ Self. I live life abundantly, peacefully, and joyfully.
I give thanks for the perfect alignment of my human self with my Divine Nature.
I am God expressing through the Christ as me.
 

This may be a little too “out there” for now – so feel free to start with the separate, specific areas you want to deal with. Wherever you are in Consciousness, this template can help you create a dynamic, power-packed affirmation that is Truth centered. Never forget that you are God expressing, and you can do everything Jesus as the Christ did … and more! He told us that! When you truly believe it, and make a habit of Shooting from the Lip … Spiritually Honoring Only One Truth with everything you say, you really can walk the spiritual path on practical feet!

 
 
About the Authors: Combine a flair for the dramatic, a deep understanding of metaphysics combined with the teachings of Jesus, and a zest for ministry, and you have defined Revs. Bil & Cher Holton, the dynamic duo who serve as co-ministers for Unity Spiritual Life Center, Durham, NC. This exciting couple bring their love for Truth Principles to everything they do, and work together to create a center that lives its vision and mission in everything it does.They are prolific authors, and share their metaphysical and spiritual principles through their website: http://www.TheMetaphysicalBible.com
About Cher & Bil Holton

Since 1984, Cher & Bil Holton have been co-owners of The Holton Consulting Group, Inc., helping corporate and association clients enhance bottom-line results using cutting edge employee engagement. Their keynote speeches, turbo-training, and coaching sessions are practical, grounded in research, and lots of fun to boot! They are prolific authors, and take "Indiana Jones" vacations to continually stretch their limits!
This entry was posted in Metaphysical Interpretation, Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to S.H.O.O.T. from the Lip for Powerful Spiritual Growth

  1. Greetings from Unity in Vacaville, California! I knew this was Unity thought before I got to the end. What a great specific tool. I haven’t been as elaborate with my denials and affirmations, but I can see the value in this. I’m bookmarking for later.
    Blessings,
    Sherry, Unity board member
    Daily Spiritual Tools, the blog and the book

    Daily Spiritual Tools, the blog
    Daily Spiritual Tool, the book

    Like

Leave a Reply

